March 28, 2011

Survival Earplugs

Posted in Life tagged , , , , at 6:45 pm by lindaslongview

Although I usually have a pair of earplugs with me at all times, I never before considered them survival gear until now….

I just returned from the USA Nationals Cheerleading Competition accompanying my daughter’s high school cheer squad to their first national competition.  I am very proud of this team because they have accomplished so much – they now have national experience and a national ranking!

I have the utmost respect and gratitude for the team coach who taught these girls new skills and helped them achieve this new level of excellence.  In addition, she truly deserves a medal, because she never got a break from the 24/7 supervision of the team and did not need earplugs.  As a chaperone and assistant, I found herding the team of 18 girls (walking, buses, and planes) to warm-up/compete at the arena, to attend team dinners, and to have downtime at Disneyland very tiring.

There were early mornings for me to ensure that brown bag breakfasts and lunches were purchased, bagged, and ready before the start of daily activities.  Incongruently, there were late nights for the girls so even after I had retired there was still much commotion and energy in my shared hotel room.  Thankfully, I slept with earplugs…

At the annoucement of the team standings and finalist selection, the din of hundreds of cheerleaders cheering for each other in an arena built for excellent acoustics was more than my aged ears could take. Thankfully, I had my earplugs…

I’m not sure is possible to put 20+ girls/moms in close proximity during extended travel and NOT get a stream of incessant whining.  Thankfully, I traveled with earplugs and could use them when I wasn’t specifically on duty…

My long view advice to future chaperones/assistants – carry earplugs because they are survival gear!

Congratulations to the girls!  Thank you for the opportunity to share in your accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

