October 12, 2010

Going Beyond

Posted in Life tagged , , , , , , , at 8:52 pm by lindaslongview

There are so many titles that I could give this blog post:  discomfort, latency, periphery…but going beyond seemed appropriate for the lesson I just had reinforced by life.

I was out trail running, enjoying the beautiful scenery at the reservoir, when I noticed car debris in the usually clear path (photos taken later show debris cleared to the side). 

I judged the debris to be limited and I decided to simply to jump (hurdle?) over it and then continue my run.  Unfortunately, I misjudged it.  My right ankle caught an entangled vine and whipped another vine into the back of my left leg leaving an 8” scratch in the back of my left thigh.

It all happened fast and seemed inconsequential. However, because of endemic Poison Oak, I used a urushiol removal product, Tecnu, along the 8” scratch – just in case.  What I didn’t think about is that contaminated region might extend beyond the obvious 8” scratch.

Twelve days later, I learned the hard way that I had indeed been exposed to Poison Oak on my right ankle and on several other areas on both of my legs – except where I had treated the scratch (which was duly healed and gone).

So, my long view advice:

  • Consider a bigger region than just the obvious – periphery damage may not be visible.
  • Consider the potential for latency – sometimes a problem is not immediately obvious.

In hindsight, I probably could not have avoided the misjudgment that caused the exposure, but I could have used the Tecnu a bit more extensively and liberally (go beyond), but I just didn’t consider it. So, now I’m miserable with itching and angry red welts on my legs and ankle.  😦

Have you considered latency, periphery, and going beyond?

1 Comment »

  1. Yuping said,

    Hi Linda!
    I’m so glad that your blog is back on! I really miss it!

    Yuping


Leave a Reply

