February 28, 2010

First Blog-o-versary

Posted in Business, Life tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 10:56 pm by lindaslongview

I’ve accomplished one year of blogging. Not much on the scale of the long-view, but enough time to take stock…

When I first became interested in blogging it was because I was an avid reader of Seth’s blog, I knew one person who blogged (my friend Willis), and because it existed on my edge.  But that wasn’t really the why I wanted to blog…

I recently described the why to my father-in-law (Ed):

“I take in so much information on a daily basis, in the form of interactions, reading, and listening, that I want to process and resolve what I learn each day (or week) against my framework for life.  Although that might seem weird, for me it’s about adapting and evolving with each new piece of information.  As such, I must process and store what I learn (and how I learned it) so that I can reference it for future reflection, lest I become anxious from internalizing too much stuff!  It’s about leveraging my opportunities to live life as positively as I can.”

Blogging has allowed me to tame the fire hose of my thoughts and distill them constructively in the form of advice (to myself).  The process of sharing my blog allows me to receive feedback and create references to topics when they resurface!

Although I stumbled upon the importance of building a framework of ideas, real experts, like David Allen, have written extensively on the subject.   From his blog:

“…we’re overloaded – not with information, but with meaning to be mined. So the solution is not about slicing and dicing and reorganizing data – it’s about how quickly and discretely we can decide its specific meaning to us…and most of us weren’t taught how to get fast and comfortable with clarifying meaning…”

David provides practical tips on improving productivity in his book Getting Things Done through the processes of Collecting, Processing, Organizing, and Reviewing.  My long view advice is similar:

  • Observe and collect interactions – what could have been done different for an improved interaction?
  • Process and clarify – how does this fit into and/or change your framework?
  • Distill the key learnings so that they can be referenced – can you describe in a few sentences the crucial nuggets?
  • Find the discipline to do it regularly so growth does not stagnate.

Blogging might not be for everyone, but blogging provides me the discipline to do this knowledge work regularly. I care about my consistency to my few readers (aka stats!) and the importance of legacy (the long view!).

Are you engaging in disciplined knowledge work for personal growth?

1 Comment »

  1. Happy Anniversary!
    I’m inspired! Thanks L.


Leave a Reply

