April 2, 2009

Entrepreneurial Athleticism

Posted in Business, Life, Technology tagged , , , , , , , , at 7:59 am by lindaslongview

pole_vault

There is an adage that says, “Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted.”  This week I received experience.  I learned that I was trimmed from the short list of candidates for an executive position at an emerging technology company. This outcome was not terribly surprising because I did not have sufficient deep technical experience (none!) in their key process operation.  I am only disappointed because I enjoyed the people that I met, I continue to be interested in gaining expertise in technology more new than familiar, I was joyful at the prospect of making the world a little greener (CleanTech), and I had that deep instinct that I could help them build a successful and sustainable organization.

Although it is sometimes a challenge to take a deep breath and be self-aware enough to be gracious and grateful simply for the opportunity to be considered, it was not hard in this situation.  In the process of being considered, I had the good fortune of connecting to industry leaders, receiving excellent advice, and learning more about my own value proposition than I previously was aware.  For example, although I have been selling my technical agility in combination with my organizational strengths (see Proverbial Zebra), I had yet to create a value proposition to best market my superpower* (see Credibility).  In this process, I discovered that entrepreneurial athleticism has already been described and advocated in the recruitment of CleanTech (emerging technology) management teams:  “The best approach is to source individuals who have demonstrated an ability to reinvent themselves…” – WooHoo!  This discovery has deepened my conviction that my value proposition is both valid and valuable.

Although this particular opportunity was not to be, I continue to be confident that a suitable adventure will find me.  They always do.

(*Linda’s superpower:  I create, amplify, and broadcast process confidence to ensure emerging technologies achieve commercial success!)

1 Comment »

  1. topsytechie said,

    Love how you are integrating images into your posts…they make such a world of difference to the reader! So sorry about your disappointment, but I love that you are keeping the “long view” in mind, and already are looking forward to the next opportunity. With that attitude, it will probably be soon in the coming!


Leave a Reply

