March 22, 2009

Resting Comfortably

Posted in Life tagged , , , at 3:41 pm by lindaslongview

colorfulorchidboquet

Today my best friends are my pillow, my teacup, and Mucinex-D (the elixir of cold comfort).  Just like everybody else, I hate being sick.  I hate the misery of congestion, coughing, and sniffling.  I hate missing my Sunday morning run with my friends, missing a kid’s soccer game, and not making any progress against my “to do” list.  However, all of those things are transient and insignificant in the long view.

I know without adequate rest, I will only get sicker.  I have tested the “not slow down” strategy more than once and know unequivocally that it’s a loser.  My two-year-old memory of walking pneumonia is still vivid!  I am grateful that I have a family that will cover for me and allow me to rest.  Today I am resting comfortably.

4 Comments »

  1. vikig said,

    Got books? A good one will help you forget about the sniffles and snuffles. Keep that cup filled with hot tea, make sure the Mucinex is close, and prop up that pillow! Let Sunday be your day of rest…relish the napping! I hope you feel better fast!
    Viki

    • lindaslongview said,

      Thanks for the well wishes. Nothing like a cheery friend to help me feel better already! 🙂

  2. I hope you feel better, and get plenty of rest. And don’t forget to add honey to your tea. It tastes great, and helps soothe a sore throat (if you have one).

    TJ

    • lindaslongview said,

      Thanks so much for your well wishes. My tea does have honey in it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

